How can I use FFmpeg to either merge segmented M4S files or locate the init file?

I’m a developer working on a platform for streaming videos. I aim to improve the platform’s performance by maximizing the supply of video material. To facilitate streaming, I have a number of video files that have been split into smaller M4S (MPEG-4) chunks.
I have a problem: I must figure out how to either discover the initialization file, which contains crucial data required for the video stream or combine these segmented files for smooth playback.
Can anyone guide me regarding this?

1 Like

You must use the MP4Box tool, which is a part of the GPAC (Multimedia Framework for Multimedia Packaging) project, to combine segmented M4S (MPEG-DASH) files into a single media file or identify the initialization (init) file using FFmpeg. For use with MP4 files that are fragmented, such as those used in MPEG-DASH, MP4Box was created. The procedures to combine segmented M4S files or obtain the init file are as follows:

1. Install GPAC (MP4Box)

Download GPAC (MP4Box) from the official website at https://gpac.wp.imt.fr/downloads/ if it isn’t already on your computer. Observe the installation guidelines designed for your particular operating system.

2. Merge Segmented M4S Files

Use the MP4Box command to combine segmented M4S files into a single MP4 file. Go to the directory where your M4S segments are located and run the following command:

MP4Box -dash 10000 -frag 1000 -rap -out merged.mp4 segment1.m4s segment2.m4s ... segmentN.m4s

• -dash 10000: Specifies the segment duration in milliseconds. Adjust this value as necessary.
  • -frag 1000: Determines the fragment duration in milliseconds. Adapt this value to suit your requirements.
  • -rap: Enforces random access points (keyframes) at the beginning of each fragment.
  • -out merged.mp4: Specifies the output file name, which will contain the amalgamated segments.